WE’LL FIGHT FOR YOU
Experienced Defense for Assault Crimes
For over three decades, the team of Kamuela and Kona assault & battery lawyers at Olson & Sons has been representing clients accused of violent crimes. Our track record shines bright with a consistently high rate of success. We now boast of having tried over 500 cases in both in-court and out-of-court settings.
In Hawaii, assault cases can be of various types, but usually involve serious offenses resulting from organized criminal activity.
Under Hawaii law, you can be arrested for assault if you physically injure someone without legal explanation. Assault is classified as first and second-degree assault, i.e. Class B and Class C felonies respectively. A third-degree assault, however, is a misdemeanor offense.
If you or your loved one has been charged with assault and battery homicide in Kamuela and Kona, make sure you have the right lawyer by your side to vigorously protect your rights. At Olson & Sons, we have the skills and the experience that can help you clear your name in an assault and battery case.
Schedule a Consultation
To schedule a consultation with an attorney call Olson & Sons today.
Difference between Assault and Battery
The line of difference between assault and battery is a thin one. Assault refers to the threat of physical harm to another person. Battery involved physically touching another person without their consent.
The primary distinction between the two depends on the attacker’s intentions and the degree of injury inflicted.
Let’s consider an example to understand this. A first-degree assault involves an intention and a serious injury. A third-degree assault, on the other hand, can involve merely negligent behavior that resulted in minor injuries.
Three Degrees of Assault
Under felony assault laws in Hawaii, assault and battery are categorized as:
- First-Degree Assault A person who intentionally causes serious bodily harm to someone else can be considered guilty of first-degree assault. It is a Class B felony, and is punishable by up to $25,000 in fines and up to 10 years imprisonment.
- Second-Degree Assault If a person knowingly causes substantial physical harm to someone else or if their negligence results in serious bodily injury to another person, they can be considered guilty of second-degree assault. It is a Class C felony, and is punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and up to 5 years imprisonment.
- Third-Degree Assault As per Hawaiian law, a person can be considered guilty of third-degree assault if they intentionally, knowingly or negligently caused physical harm to someone else. It also applies if they caused bodily injury to another person using a dangerous instrument. A third-degree assault is a misdemeanor. However, it is considered a petty misdemeanor if it is proven that the assault was committed during a fight that was entered into with another person by mutual consent.
Contact an Attorney with a Proven Track Record
Assault and battery accusations can have serious consequences on your life. Fortunately, you can benefit from working with an experienced defense attorney for assault crimes who knows of certain important defenses that may apply, depending on your case facts. The seasoned attorneys at Olson & Sons will aggressively defend your rights and fight to clear the assault and battery charges levied against you.
Contact our Kona assault defense lawyer at 808.331.3113 or our Kamuela assault defense lawyer at 808.885.8533 to schedule a consultation. You can also reach us by filling out the contact form on our website.